Belgian Knockout

The first edition of the Belgian Open took place in 1910. The tournament was played that year at the Royal Golf Club of Belgium over 36 holes. It was not until 1928 that the competition format was expanded to 72 holes. During both World Wars, the tournament was not played. Belgian Flory Van Donck managed to win the tournament five times between 1939 and 1956. Since 1978, the Belgian Open has been part of the European Tour.

In 2018, PietersProductions, an events agency co-founded by Thomas Pieters, took over the organisation of the Belgian Open. After an 18-year absence, this brought the Belgian Open back to the European Tour calendar. The Belgian Open was reintroduced under the name Belgian Knockout.